1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

$4000 for battery 2001 Prius, 85000 Miles, Sell or Repair?

Discussion in 'Generation 1 Prius Discussion' started by rosadee, Oct 25, 2010.

1. rosadee

rosadee New Member

Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    My 2001 Prius had warning lights; Toyota dealer could not find the problem; they said "drive it around every day." I did, then on the highway, a "whizzing" sound started in the trunk area;:mad: brought it back to the Toyota dealer.

Now they say I need a new battery, the expensive one. It will cost approx. $4000 including labor, insulator (sp?), junction box and other assorted items. Note: I am not a techie :(

This car has approx. 85,000 miles, less than 1 year old tires, a recent new battery (the cheap one) and a SECOND replaced fuel tank which cost me $900 last May. Two smallish dents, one in the front fender, one in the right rear.:p

Should I sell the car "as is" for how much $$$$; OR fix it for the $4000?:confused: Based on Edmonds' website, it might bring between $3700-$4700 without any repairs. Suggestions, please!

2. oldnoah

oldnoah Member

Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Ask the toyota dealer to give you the actual codes that they used to determine the condition of the battery.

There are some other options, depending on where you are and who you can get to do the work.

3. bwilson4web

bwilson4web BMW i3 and Model 3

Vehicle:
    2018 Tesla Model 3
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    We really need to see the codes to understand the failure. Your options are:
    • Toyota service center - ask them for the codes and any sub codes. If they think it is the traction battery, ask for the voltage read out of all 19 modules.
    • ScanGauge ($150-175 + adapter) - programmable, this unit will give you the hybrid vehicle and battery codes as well as metrics from the traction battery.