1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

42/40 Air pressue unsafe???

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by Schmika, Jun 1, 2005.

1. Schmika

Schmika New Member

I suspect many Prius owners come here to learn how to optimize the mpg of their Prius. This is one of the first locations I came to. I like the anecdotal stories and the postings by people who obviously know a LOT about the ICE and ways to get great gas mileage.

I will not profess to know enough to contradict some of the advice that I don't agree with but, this is a new system and cannot go by the "old" driving rules all the time.

What I do know about is vehicle performance, particularly tires. Why? You will want to know that before you read on.

I am a 26 yr law enforcement officer. I am a driver trainer and run our driver training program. I was a crash investigator/reconstructionist and ran my own consultation group and testified in court. I belong to an international organization of police driver trainers. [web:9ccf90eb1f]http://www.alertinternational.com[/web:9ccf90eb1f]

I have spent a significant number of hours discussing issues with tire manufacturer people and engineers from auto companies.

My specialty is how to prevent crashes and how to get the most performance out of a car and/or driver.

All that being said, please realize that when it comes to performance, I am not talking about how fast you can go or accelerate but how well the car handles under extreme circumstances such as braking distance, grip in corners, and ability to evade critical situations.

All cars, regardless of engine technology, follow the rules of physics. Your Prius has 4 tires. Everything that you want the car to do through the steering, brakes, and accelerator MUST go through the tires. Tires are the most critical safety equipment on your car.