1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

60,000 Mile Maintenance Questions

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by bigj3347, Dec 31, 2007.

1. bigj3347

bigj3347 New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Hey Everyone,

My Prius is fast approaching its 60,000 mile mark and according to my dealer's service guideline, it's time for a major tune up. I change my own oil and filters every 5k miles and use Mobil1 5W-30 synthetic since the first oil change.

My question is twofold. First of all, is it necessary to spend approximately $350 on a major tune up? The manual says they'll do a multi-point inspection, top off all fluids, rotate tires, inspect brakes, change the oil and so on and so forth. Second of all, should I start 10,000 mile oil change intervals after the 60,000 mile mark?

I'm no auto mechanic, I don't know how to inspect brakes or stuff like that. I learned how to change my own oil from the how-to guide on this forum and that's about the extent of my oil change knowledge. Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

2. patsparks

patsparks An Aussie perspective

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Tuneup is basically install new spark plugs so change them yourself. Use the specified plugs for another 60k miles service. Give the car a birthday with a new air filter too even if it looks good. If it's original it is likely to have small holes letting dirt in. And if it hasn't been replaced a new drive belt for the water pump. Again, cheap insurance.

Why increase oil change intervals when the engine is more worn than it was last oil change, stick with 5000 miles after all if you do it yourself it's cheap insurance.

A lot has been said for changing trans fluid at or before 60k miles, again I think a good idea. Only use the specified oil. I would also change coolant and brake fluid, best done by the dealer because bleeding either system can be tricky.