1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

A bit torn

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by sarasbluegroove, Sep 28, 2011.

1. sarasbluegroove

sarasbluegroove New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi everybody,
    I am brand new to the prius world. I've never really liked how they look (actually i think they're quite ugly) but as i'm a fresh out of school with a new job, and need a new car, and i drive almost 100 miles a day, i am considering everything.

I made up a spreadsheet of costs for a bunch of different options, used, new, gas mileage, and a used prius is by far the cheapest option over a 5 year period (took into account maintenace costs approx $200/year, gas, and financing approx $19000 car)

That being said, i am a bit of a skeptic. Will i have to change anything in my lifestyle because i own a prius? or will i just have to know that it's slightly different (jumping, snow, etc) and that will be fine? I live in NE so i can expect snowy winters, should i consider the price of new tires in my estimates? Or maybe a used prius in NE will already have them on?

As for models, i find the 2010 a bit more attractive then previous models, however to keep my price reasonable, i will have to have less "gadgets" inside. I would love to have an aux jack, that's my main necessity. However if i get an older model, having a lot of perks may be worth it (nav, back up cam, etc).

One more, how difficult is it to improve the sound system? I have a sub and amp in my little corolla now, would it be a huge PIA to put that into the prius? I don't even know if i could ask the dealer to do that for me? What would you want with the choices i have? Thanks for any suggestions/advice!
    Sara

2. mmcdonal

mmcdonal Active Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV