1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

A/C system has no refridgerant

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by PatHenry52, Jun 25, 2019.

1. PatHenry52

PatHenry52 New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Hi everyone,

So my sister-in-law (17 year old) was gifted a 2007 Prius from a family member with non-functioning A/C. She's doing my wife and I a favor via some babysitting so I told her I'd look into her non-functioning A/C and see what I thought.
    To be fore-warned, I'm a Jeep guy that prefers 2 solid axles and a manual transmission with my manual windows, so while I have quite a bit of experience turning a wrench, I have zero experience with hybrid vehicles.

Immediately I checked for the most obvious issue, evidently a concern to all vehicles regardless of hybridocity -- whether or not it had any refrigerant. It did not.
    (I checked this by blip-ing the low pressure service port and when I heard no escaping gas sound I pushed the schrader valve down and it was fully, totally empty.

So there's a leak somewhere in the system.

Researching briefly on the subject, it appears that 2 prime suspects for leakage on these cars are:
    1) Rocks kicking up and busting the condenser
    and
    2) A hose that likes to rust/rot near the front frame

I'd assume that o-rings drying out and moisture causing holes in the evaporator are also possibilities as well.

I also learned that unfortunately, I can't even use my manifold gauges on her vehicle since I've used them on a conventional vehicle system that uses PAG oil and that even more unfortunate, it seems you have to pull the entire dash apart to get at the majority of the system components.

I'm contemplating getting a cheapo hose and running a charge of refrigerant in and seeing if I can detect a leak in either of the suspect areas.

Questions: