1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

A Car is Born! (1/19/2006)

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by jbarnhart, Jan 20, 2006.

1. jbarnhart

jbarnhart New Member

My wait for a Prius must've been one of the longest on record. I first became enraptured by the Prius and its siren song when the 2004 was announced around September 2003. I studied the car, read every post on the Yahoo group, joined this group when it was formed (see my low number) and pestered sales critters at several dealers.

I put my name on not one, but TWO waiting lists, which was fashionable at the time. Still, 12 weeks later neither sales critter could tell me IF my Prius would arrive letalone WHEN. I became discouraged and despondent. It appeared my Prius would never come and in a blind rage I took myself off of both lists and bought my boss' $80,000 Audi A8 luxury car (for about the price of a Prius, BTW).

The Audi is a magnificient piece of engineering. But it isn't a Prius. I kept hearing the siren song in my head, even as I tried to concentrate on the luxury and comforts of my A8. It wasn't easy when my around-town FE was about 12-15 mpg. (Although my road trips averaged a respectable 27-28 mpg.)

In September <s>2006</s> 2005 I couldn't bear it anymore. The Feds had decided to stuff $3100 or so into the pockets of people who were already so committed to buy a car that they'd wait in line for the privilege. And the state wanted to let me drive solo in the HOV lane to drive purchases into an even greater frenzy. I think both programs are somewhat ill advised as public policy, since hybrids are doing quite well without the incentives. But if my government wants to encourage me to buy the car I already want, I'm compelled to do my patriotic duty!