1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

A new idea for gas prices...

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by galaxee, Apr 12, 2005.

1. galaxee

galaxee mostly benevolent

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    I got one of those forwarded emails today about consumer rebellion agains gas prices that explained if we quit buying gas from Exxon/Mobil, they would be forced to reduce their gas prices, and all other companies would be forced to follow suit.

I figure it wouldn't hurt to try since there are so many other choices out there. I rarely go to Exxon/Mobil anyway.

I'm a scientist, not a businessperson, anyone think this is a viable idea?

2. kidtwist

kidtwist New Member

I think it's supply versus demand more than anything. A boycott of Exxon/Mobil wouldn't make a difference because gas demand would go up at other stations.

Besides, there will come a time when we look back nostalgically on the low gas prices of 2005.

3. gschoen

gschoen Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I'd think as much as "gas holidays" do. If it does anything, maybe just hurt a local retailer a bit. Even a well organized boycott of a very determined group is hard to pull off. Exxon could always find someone to buy their refined gas, even if not sold as Exxon. The demand is almost equal to refined supply, and Exxon supplies a LOT!