1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

ABS, Brake, ECB Lights On - C0215 - '05 Gen 2

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Rhunter, Jul 4, 2018.

1. Rhunter

Rhunter Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    As stated in the subject, I'm getting the ABS, Brake, and ECB (!) lights on my '05 Prius. My local mechanic verified that the speed sensor is working. He said that it had to be something in the circuit since we know the sensor isn't faulty. He tried clearing the code to no avail.

I later hooked up my Mini VCI and tested the vehicle myself with Techstream and found the same result as him, C0215, and I was also unable to clear the code. I'm no expert with Techstream, but I did gather Freezeframe data and collected some live data as well. Based on the live data, I see that the speed sensor is working, and is in accordance with the other 3 sensors as well as the vehicle speed measurement.

I read the manual referenced in this thread and would do the testing mentioned therein, however I do not have an oscilloscope nor an intelligent tester.

Here are my questions for this community. Any answers will be greatly appreciated.

1. Does my Mini VCI have the same functionality of the intelligent tester?

2. The downloadable manual referenced above mentioned testing the wiring harness for momentary interruptions using the intelligent tester. The Skid Control ECU parameter was labeled "SPD SEN RL" in the manual. There is a similar parameter in the Techstream live data titled "RL Speed Open." Are these the same parameters? If so, that's good because my value was "Normal."

3. The downloadable manual also mentions testing the sensor/sensor rotor serrations with an oscilloscope. Is this really necessary if I already know the sensor is working accurately? If it is necessary, could I get by with the cheapest thing on Ebay?