1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

ABS, VSC, and ((!)) lights illuminated

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by german_caveman, Dec 3, 2023.

1. german_caveman

german_caveman New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hi All,

I’ve been a reader of these forums for a few years now. They helped me make a number of small-ish, mostly mechanical repairs myself, such as replacing the 12V battery, a door accentuator and the rear hatch handle. This is my first time posting. A little background about my Prius:

It’s a 2006 Prius. I purchased it in November 2019 with 110k miles. It now has 125k miles. Since purchase, I made the aforementioned repairs and had the car in the shop to replace the muffler (rusted) and catalytic converter (stolen) and get some blocks of the HV battery pack serviced. Aside from these repairs, I haven’t had to do anything to the vehicle aside from oil changes, tire rotations, and filter changes.

A week ago*, my wife noticed the red “BRAKE” light on – she doesn’t recall whether she unintentionally engaged the parking brake but when she called me, I instructed her to make sure to release the parking brake and she drove home. When I inspected the car the next morning, the red brake light was on as well as the ABS, VSC, and ((!)) lights. Here’s what I have done so far (in this order):
    • Read out error codes via the paperclip method:
      • ABS: 42 --> per the same post: “just means there are also codes on the ((!)) (ECB) light, go look at those.”
      • VSC: 45 --> per the same post: “just means there are also codes on the ((!)) (ECB) light, go look at those”
      • ECB / ((!)): --> 65 --> DTC C1344/65: MALFUNCTION IN HYDRAULIC SYSTEM (RL)
    • Checked the 12V battery:
      • 11.4V @ Ready
      • 14V @ ACC
    • Checked the break fluid reservoir and it's filled
    • Drove the car: no noticeable abnormal behavior