1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Acceleration and mpg

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by alanhu99, Feb 28, 2005.

1. alanhu99

alanhu99 New Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I'm a veteran of 287 miles on our new Prius (45mpg in mostly short distance driving so far).

I am confused about the statement by some of the more experienced people here that accelerating briskly from standstill doesn't negatively affect mpg. After reading that here, I tried it in my Prius, and it sure seems to be lower when I (mildly) stomp on the gas pedal compared to when I feather it.

I know that most of the acceleration from standstill comes from the electric generators, but doesn't the ICE still get involved in acceleration?

Can someone enlighten me?

Thanks much,

Alan

2. skruse

skruse Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I'm averaging 53-56 mpg (6000 mi on odometer). I accelerate up to about 28 mph, then engage the cruise control. I use the cruise control to accelerate up to the desired speed (average 66 mph). This produces optimum fuel economy and battery recharge.

I commute 30 mi each way Mon-Fri (60 mi total each day) on a highway. I end up each trip with a green battery and good fuel economy. I have run the heater quite a bit this winter, but not the window defrosters. Morning drives are usually with headlights on. I use Mobil 1 oil.

I make every effort to anticipate stop lights, signs and traffic on surface streets. I refuel at the last blinking bar (to minimize mass of the gas in the tank). The vehicle is parked in a well-insulated, but unheated garage.

3. Frank Hudon

Frank Hudon Senior Member