1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Advance notice of Auxillary battery dying ?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Tony2020, Aug 10, 2010.

1. Tony2020

Tony2020 New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I am a novice when it comes to car stuff.., so there may be easy answers to my questions.., but thought good to post this here.

I drop over 35 miles in 102 F weather in Washington DC metro area and parked in the garage.., and as I pressed the park button, with the headlights and wiper blades still on, the engine warning light came on and a shrill noise was heard. Then the Prius conked out.
    We had luggage in the trunk and we could not open the hatch door. So we had to get the luggage from inside the vehicle.
    Then, i captured the strange flickering of the icons on the dashboard, with my video camera - and this is posted on youtube. (search for CIMG5374.MOV on utube. It is the second one. sorry i couldn't post it here, due to the 5 post limit. )

Kept the garage door open in the night, due to the smell.
    Call the towing company next day, was able to jump start the car and took it to the dealership for testing.

After doing their diagnostic testing, they informed me that they were not able to pinpoint that the aux. battery was bad since one test showed it holding the charge at 25%, but they suspect that as the likely culprit and would like to change it. Hesitatingly , i said yes.
    Later on this proved to be correct.
    I also have a picture of the aux. battery where you can see ( i believe two of the cells have conked out.. ? )
    Then i was wondering if anyone knows the answers to these qns, that i have posed to Toyota customer care folks:

1. why cannot the diagnostics tell the Auxiliary battery is bad ?
    2. why cannot there be any kind of warning indicator that the auxiliary battery is going bad.., before this happens ?