1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Advice from a Prius owner

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by IMHYBRID, Jan 10, 2006.

1. IMHYBRID

IMHYBRID New Member

My wife and I have been driving a Prius since Oct 23 2003. We have 40000 miles on our 04 which has had one problem, the cruise control computer failed. This was fixed in less than one hour never a problem again. We will take ownership of our second Prius sometime this week, Red #7, and this is how we decided to replace car #2 with a Prius. Car #2 is a 93 Sable that we bought new and it averages 23 mpg or less. Our prius averages 47 to 52 mpg depending on the temp, and gas blend. It used to average 3 mpg more but we replaced the tires with aggressive hydroedges to improve the driveability in adverse driving conditions that we see here in Wheeling WV. The new Prius will come with falken zien 512 at our request. The math was simple we drive 25000 miles a year so with the two hybrids we save 587 gallons of gas a year or $1467.50 at $2.50 per gallon. That is $122.29 a month and the payment for a 60 month loan would be $552.46. if we finance the whole car value. $552.46-$122.29=$430.17 then if you take the $3150 from the fed and add it to the $1000 a year for 3 years that WV gives we will pay 430.17 the first year then take the $4150/12=$345.83 off the payment in year two we will pay $84.34 for the second 12 month period. Then the third and fourth year the payments go down 1000/12=$84.33 so the payments for year 3 and 4 will be $345.84. The last year the payment will be $430.17. Year 1 = $5162.04 Year 2 =$1012.08 Year 3 =$4150.08 Year 4 =$4150.08 Year 5 =$5162.04 Total paid $19636.32 after savings. Very justifyable to own this car! in fact I made a spreedsheet that shows savings during the life of the cars will offset the total cost of the cars. Not to mention it is a great car. B) Anyone still on the fence?

2. slortz