1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

advice on degrees

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by geologyrox, Nov 2, 2005.

1. geologyrox

geologyrox New Member

Sorry to bug you guys with this, but i consider my Prius forum-mates a cut above the rest =) I need a little advice.

I'm a great student. Actually, I finished all my coursework for a geology degree and a business degree in 3 years. I found out near the end that I was not allowed to participate in the dual major program, that I would be labeled dual-degree. unfortunately, that means i have to meet both college and major requirements. For my geology degree, that means proving proficiancy in a foreign language, something I am NOT. I've spent the last 6 months taking the SAT II spanish exam over and over, and still cant pass it. Maybe i'm not such a great student.

So i'm at the end of my rope - business won't delay my graduation date (even though it's STILL less than 4 years) so if I want a business degree, I have to get it now, and give up the geology degree. i'll get a geology minor instead. my heart will absolutely BREAK but I'll have a real degree, and a transcript with great geology course grades. This will, incidentally, qualify me for both the teaching certifications I want, as well as the grad program I'm interested in. I'm confidant my letters of reccomendation will get my in even without a degree - it's not exactly a competitive program. but I don't get the degree I actually want!

My other option is to give up the business degree and postpone my graduation date till spring, and try again and again and again to pass spanish. my score does keep going up, just not enough. at this rate, I should be good enough by april. If i'm not, then I've wasted a full four years with no degrees to show for it.