1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

After Market Compass

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Seagull6, Aug 29, 2006.

1. Seagull6

Seagull6 New Member

So far I am delighted with my 06 Package 3 Prius. I've had it for 6 weeks now and have put about 2500 trouble free miles on it and have a cumulative average of 52.0 MPG. We took it for one road trip of around 1200 miles and it performed like a champ and with the back seats down we were able to load it like a station wagon.

However, what I miss on the Prius is not having a compass built into the rear view mirror like my other vehicles. Has anyone had any luck or experience with after market digital compasses that either stick to the dashboard or inside the windshield? I've seen a few on the web that go for less than $100 like the Wayfinder V7000 Digital Compass, but I have no experience with them and don't know what works well and what to look for. I've also tried a digital watch that had an intergral digital comapss, but that didn't work well due to the magnetic interference from the car itself.

Incidentally, I tried using my hand held Magellan GPS over the weekend and don't recommend it. If there is anything more dangerous than messing with your cell phone while driving, it might be messing with your hand held GPS and cursing through the screens. :(

Please share your thoughts and experiences with digital compasses.

2. hdrygas

hdrygas New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Seagull @ Aug 29 2006, 04:42 PM) [snapback]311353[/snapback]</div>