Aftermarket alarm system

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Technical Discussion' started by tekgirl, Jul 8, 2009.

  1. tekgirl

    tekgirl New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    29
    2
    0
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Hi all,

    Just picked up my 2010 Prius last week and am loving' it ;) I did not get the alarm system offered by Toyota, but plan on getting a Viper alarm.

    I realize many people think alarm systems are not necessary, but I guess that is another discussion.

    My question is this: do you think there will be a problem with any of the other Prius components such as retaining the smart key functionality?

    Thanks
     
  2. RobH

    RobH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    2,368
    970
    70
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    The biggest problem will be that the 2010 is a new design. So you're going to be their first experiment on a 2010 Prius. But it's probably not much different than a Toyota Camry Hybrid that uses a similar Power button.

    There is a long discussion about installing a remote start system in a Gen2 Prius at http://priuschat.com/forums/gen-ii-prius-audio-electronics/54116-remote-starter.html Both remote start and alarm systems have to disable/enable the car's built in security system. The Idatalink ADS-TBSL KO is an immobilizer bypass that supports the Gen2 Prius, and does not require a dedicated keyfob. Their website doesn't have any data on 2010 support yet, but, again, it's probably the same as for a Camry Hybrid.

    Let us know how it goes.
     
  3. HTMLSpinnr

    HTMLSpinnr Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    5,339
    913
    251
    Location:
    Surprise, AZ (Phoenix)
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tesla Model 3
    Model:
    N/A
    My dad's dealer "Sold" him on "their" alarm. Not sure if it's Viper or another brand, however it's fairly integrated w/ the car. Downside is his horn honks once or twice briefly upon lock/unlock.

    This was their first install and they claimed the wiring was "backward" compared to previous generations. Other than some shock sensor tuning that's required, he's happy with it. I'd hope so for $595 installed!

    Personally, I'm glad I have the VIP RS3200 system - no annoying shock sensor for the trash truck to set off and all harnesses were plug and play, or pins pulled here/there (no taps).
     
  4. tekgirl

    tekgirl New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    29
    2
    0
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Thanks, RobH. I did get the remote start, but not the alarm. And you have a point about the fact that the Prius is a new model and I will be an experiment :) I think I will wait.
     
  5. tekgirl

    tekgirl New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    29
    2
    0
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I may end up with the VIP RS3200.

    The fact that the Viper alarm installer told me that they have not changed the wiring in the 2010 from the other models, just goes to show that he does not know anything about the 2010.

    Thanks
     
  6. TKY

    TKY Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    232
    25
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Maybe someone can explain the features to me. As I understand it, the Prius has a security system already installed which disables the car to prevent theft of the car, but not possessions in the car. The accessory is a upgrade feature to trigger the security system in the event of glass being broken. Helpful to prevent the car from being stolen.

    Is this correct or did I misunderstand?

    TK
     
  7. RobH

    RobH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    2,368
    970
    70
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    That's certainly a red flag. With the Gen2, you can unlock the immobilizer by inserting the keyfob into the keyslot on the dash. The equivalent function on the 2010 is to simply hold the keyfob near the Power button. There are several switches inside the keyslot that signal that the keyfob is halfway, and then fully inserted into the keyslot. On a Gen2, an aftermarket device that has to unlock the immobilizer must provide the equivalent signals indicating that a keyfob is present. Those switches/signals simply don't exist on a 2010. Now maybe they can just be ignored, and maybe not. Wiring that goes to the keyslot in the Gen2 instead goes to a different style Power button in the 2010. And we still haven't addressed the issue of compatibility between Gen2 and 2010 transponders (the electronic key used by the keyslot/Power button). If they're incompatible, then the immobilizer bypass device is going to have to be redesigned for the 2010.

    The first cut guess is that the 2010 Prius immobilizer/keyfob setup is exactly the same as the earlier Camry Hybrid setup. Until someone actually succeeds with an install, it's all just a guess.


    Another unknown is just how much of the RS3200 is already present in the 2010. With Gen2, everything except the glass breakage sensor was already installed at all equipment levels. High-end levels got the device enabled, while low-end ones had it disabled. Adding the RS3200 consisted of installing the glass breakage sensor, and enabling the alarm if it wasn't already enabled. Some people just got the already installed alarm enabled. That extra sensor certainly doesn't cost anything like the cost of an RS3200.

    A quick way to test if there is already an alarm installed is to lock up the car with a window rolled down. Now approach the car without a keyfob, and unlock the car by reaching through the open window and pressing the unlock next to the door handle. If the alarm goes off, then most of the equipment is already there and enabled. I'm quite happy without the glass breakage sensor (or jar sensor, or motion detector, or whatever extra sensor they're using).

    There is a pdf of the RS3200 install somewhere here on PriusChat. You might want to search for it and check what is actually done to install the alarm. As I recall, there are several steps that are "install X if it isn't already there", where X includes the hood switch and the alarm horn. You might also do a search for RS3200 on the Gen2, as there was quite a discussion about it.
     
  8. tekgirl

    tekgirl New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    29
    2
    0
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Thanks, RobH, for the detailed explanation. I'll test it out and see what I have. Quite honestly, I don't want an installer using my 2010 as a guinea pig.

    --tekgirl
     
  9. wave_slider

    wave_slider New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    201
    26
    0
    Location:
    the aloha state
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    I've used Viper alarms on all of my vehicles, but in the case of the Prius, I decided to go with the VP3+. The main reason is if you install an aftermarket alarm, you typically receive an additional keyfob/remote. One of the great things about the smart key is that you only carry that single key fob.

    If the Prius used a seperate key and key fob, I would have probably opted for the Viper too.
     
  10. HTMLSpinnr

    HTMLSpinnr Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    5,339
    913
    251
    Location:
    Surprise, AZ (Phoenix)
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tesla Model 3
    Model:
    N/A
    Whatever my Dad ended up getting didn't require the additional FOB. Whatever system you end up with, make sure it integrates w/ the factory keyless entry.
     
  11. tekgirl

    tekgirl New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    29
    2
    0
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Thanks, all. I decided not to do anything for now. The alarm installer probably could have done the job, but I just didn't want to take any chances.

    The Viper alarm system I was considering would have been integrated into the smart key, so that was not an issue. I just did not want my brand new Prius to be a guinea pig ;)
     
  12. freddy786

    freddy786 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    2
    0
    0
    Location:
    califnoria
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    This may be a silly question, but how can I check to see if the dealer actually installed or enabled the alarm system in my 08 prius? I tried leaving the window down and locked the doors and reached thru the window and opened the door but the alarm didn't go off. I got suckered into paying $700 for the alarm and want to make sure it was actually installed.
     
  13. viprius

    viprius Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    46
    3
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    My dealer sold me ROCKLEDGE SECURITIES alarm system for $395.
     
  14. viprius

    viprius Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    46
    3
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Make sure that you have kept the FOB far away from the vehicle or there are no FOBs inside the vehicle.
     
  15. wave_slider

    wave_slider New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    201
    26
    0
    Location:
    the aloha state
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    if you did vp3, you will have a small black square on the dash near your blinker switch. it should have a red light and a microphone. it should also say security above the light.
     
Loading...