1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Ahh! What's Wrong?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by john1701a, Feb 28, 2005.

1. john1701a

john1701a Prius Guru

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I didn't panic. But I wasn't too thrilled by what I saw. Nothing!

The distance in the average section of the Consumption Screen was missing. Then it finally appeared. Why? I had no idea. But since the Prius was running just fine, I started my drive home. It really bothered me though. So I tried to switch the Multi-Display over to the Energy Monitor. Nothing. Then a second after I had removed my finger, the button turned green. Then another second later, it switched to that screen. No arrows. No charge-level. Just spinning wheels on the empty template. What the heck?

I'm a programmer. So debugging a computer problem is no big deal. I tried a few logical things. Turning on the radio via the dashboard button worked fine, and so did adjusting the volume. Nothing appeared on the Multi-Display though. So I started testing the steering-wheel button. Nothing, not even a beep... until I got to the temperature button. One of the last I tried, naturally. The Multi-Display suddenly flashed a "check the status of the air conditioner" message.

That's it! I suddenly remembered the "Climate" button near the Multi-Display was the last button I had pushed before shutting off the Prius this morning. The screen was acting really, really sluggish... as if it was getting overloaded with input.

Yup! That was it. The moment I touched the button it became obvious that it was stuck in the pressed position. Sure enough. The moment I released, the Multi-Display snapped back to the fully operational state.

Phew!

2. jchu

jchu New Member

Actually sounds alot like the intermittant MFD failure that has generated the TSB EL...