1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Air Oil Separator

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Main Forum' started by jteran5, Jan 31, 2021.

1. jteran5

jteran5 Active Member

Vehicle:
    2019 Prius
    Model:
    XLE AWD-e
    Has anyone installed an air oil separator on their car? Would rather run an AOS than a catch can. I have no experience with these systems at all and there are no shops around me that would be willing go attempt this unless there was a complete kit.

I'm trying to specifically run the Radium AOS here :

Universal Air Oil Separator-Return (AOS-R)
    UniversalAOS3.jpeg

Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.

Mendel Leisk likes this.
  2. Mendel Leisk

Mendel Leisk Senior Member

Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    I’m not sure there’s a difference, between oil catch can and air-oil separator. I’m using Moroso 85474, which is described as the latter.

Moroso SEPARATOR, AIR-OIL, CATCH CAN, LARGE BODY, UNIVERSAL

(The manufacturer’s description in above uses both terms, oil catch can and air-oil separator.)

Of note: the two halves of the body have a fragile o-ring; it should be inspected and have a sparing amount of anti-seize compound applied, whenever the can is opened, and/or replaced if damaged. Fortunately it’s a readily available size (through local automotive parts stores); I can post info if you’re interested.

Here’s a third gen thread that’s still relevant for fourth gen I think:

Oil Catch Can, Eliminate that knock! | PriusChat

I’d say the preponderance of work will be finding a suitable/practical mounting location, routing the hoses. Consider how you’re going to access it, assuming regular draining is required. My own case, I opted to mount below intake manifold, connected with a custom bracket to the front cross beam. I access primarily from below, while doing oil changes.

#2 Mendel Leisk, Jan 31, 2021