1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

ALERT! A tire problem?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by Ernie Rogers, Jun 2, 2006.

1. Ernie Rogers

Ernie Rogers New Member

First, let me say that I am no expert on the Toyota Prius. You owners should know much more. (I own a VW TDI.) I discovered the following information that I thought everyone would want to know--it's possible I don't have the right information, and then I would expect to be corrected.

When I did a Google search the other day for information on the Prius, I found that Toyota is not supplying the car with low-rolling-resistance tires. Apparently, they were offering LRR tires earlier. But after receiving many complaints about those tires, they changed to "performance" tires having normal rolling resistance. The primary complaint may have been about poor tire life. (Duh! They didn't design for the right wheel /tire size.)

I just ran my fuel economy model for the Prius, using two tire choices, and got the following results for fuel economy at 60 mph highway:

Normal tires: Crr = 0.012 --> 49.3 mpg
    Good LRR tires: Crr = 0.0065 --> 60.4 mpg

This shows a potential mileage improvement from changing tires of over 20%. I am guessing on the rolling resistance coefficient for the OEM tires because I was unable to find any data. 0.012 is my best guess. The LRR tire Crr is the one I measured for the tires on my own car. (My tires are Michelin Energy MXV4 S8.)

In my opinion, this is a very serious matter. If I'm right, millions of gallons of gasoline are being wasted because of a bad choice at the factory. Well, actually, I hope I'm wrong.

Ernie Rogers
    -----------------------------------------------------
    Driving for Efficiency
    May 28, 2006
    989 miles /13.3 gallons ---> 74 mpg

2003 Beetle TDI + wing
    Michelin Energy tires
    Motul specific 506.01 motor oil