1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

All in on Tesla Model 3

Discussion in 'Tesla' started by el Crucero, Jan 21, 2018.

1. el Crucero

el Crucero Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    I have been away from Prius Chat for a long time, almost two years. It was 3/31/2016, opening night, when I placed my reservation deposit for a Tesla 3. I have since been all in on the Tesla and active on various Tesla 3 fora. I have sat in the car, played with all the systems, and it will be life changing for me. I expect to receive the car in about 2 to 3 months.

The base price is $35K, but being a SoCal resident I will get a $7500 federal tax credit, $2,500 CA rebate, and $450 Edison rebate. That makes the base price of the car about $24.5K. That base car is not available yet, but indications are that it will be available in about 2 months. The federal tax credit of $7,500 will probably expire 9/30/18 for Tesla and then be reduced to $3750. And I will not be purchasing a base car. I will spend about $11K on options for Premium upgrades, Advanced Autopilot, and Premium color. That will take the price back up to about $36K but it will be the most advanced car on the highway.

I have Solar City PV on the roof of my house and I will charge my car at home via a 240v NEMA 14-50 plug that will charge at the rate of about 30 miles of range per hour. There are more expensive options for home charging that will charge at faster rates, but overnight charging for full range is sufficient for me. I will rarely rely on Tesla's supercharger system. It is just not necessary with free home charging.