All Sound Dead with Radio, bad AMP?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by GreenTerrorPrius, Dec 5, 2022.

  1. GreenTerrorPrius

    GreenTerrorPrius Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    48
    14
    0
    Location:
    33410
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Hello All, I have a 2012 Prius (no JBL sound) so just the stock unit. The audio on all things (bluetooth, radio, CD) all have gone out? Where should I trouble shoot first. It would work sometimes and then not others and then now it is has been done with no sound for last 6 months.
    1. Do you think I should get a new AMP?
    2. I did swap out the front speakers a LONG time ago, so dont think it is due to this

    Any help appreciated, thank you
    GTP
     
  2. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    19,355
    12,925
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I would look in the repair manual for the diagnostic procedures.

    Toyota Service Information and Where To Find It | PriusChat

    I know how to find the infotainment diagnostic menus in the touchscreen headunits. I don't remember how to get them in the non-touchscreen units, but I do remember seeing that there are some.

    If I remember right, only the JBL systems had a separate amp. If you've got non-JBL. the speaker wiring probably goes straight to the headunit, and there isn't a separate amp.
     
  3. GreenTerrorPrius

    GreenTerrorPrius Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    48
    14
    0
    Location:
    33410
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Hmmm, I thought I read that they both had AMPS but just differnt ones. I could be wrong. Well if that is the case i guess i can rule out the AMP
     
  4. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    19,355
    12,925
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Of course there has to be an amp somewhere, but it can just be included in the headunit, instead of in a separate box.

    Amp is just short for amplifier. It isn't an acronym.
     
  5. ASRDogman

    ASRDogman Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    4,676
    2,648
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    There is not an amp for the non jbl system. So it can't be the amp.
    Something in the radio has failed. You can find stock units online. Some are refurbished.
    Probably one like yours that was repaired.
     
  6. ASRDogman

    ASRDogman Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2018
    4,676
    2,648
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Yes, inside the radio. I guess I should not had "assumed" you meant external amp that
    comes with the JBL system....


     
    mollymudpie likes this.
  7. GreenTerrorPrius

    GreenTerrorPrius Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    48
    14
    0
    Location:
    33410
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Thanks All, yes it has the built in AMP in the radio, It just wont produce sound on anything, so I guess i will try and get an aftermarket head unit
     
  8. ChapmanF

    ChapmanF Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    19,355
    12,925
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    Maybe the amp got tired of having its name shouted.
     
  9. mollymudpie

    mollymudpie Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    5
    0
    0
    Location:
    Scottsdale
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    What after market head unit did you choose? I have a 2013 trim level 2 with a bad touchscreen but steering wheel controls work. Basic unit no navigation no JBL no back up camera
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...