1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Anbody else have an issue with shifter sticking in drive?

Discussion in 'Prius v Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by gromittoo, Aug 3, 2021.

Tags:
  1. gromittoo

gromittoo Active Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    This is a minor problem I am having, but it is getting worse. As an Uber driver, I hit the Park button then put the shifter into drive more than most people. It is supposed to go back to its normal position, but mine gets stuck about 5% of the time. I can tap it, and it will go back.

I don't normally look at the shifter. You get a weird beep if you turn the car off and open the door. Sort of like you left the lights on or something. I always check to see if the shifter is stuck before hitting the park button.

Anybody else have this minor annoyance? Anybody fix it?

StuckInDrive.jpg

ivanhoe likes this.
  2. ChapmanF

ChapmanF Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    It's mechanically pretty simple; probably the old grease is a bit gummy, and some newer grease would be nicer.

ivanhoe likes this.
  3. gromittoo

gromittoo Active Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    I had the panel off because I was taking pictures of the back of my 57011 MFD. I had it off a second time because I forgot to plug in the backup camera, and my daughter backed into a neighbor's car (oops, but no damage).

Anyway, I took the opportunity to spray some White Lithium Grease inside the mechanism. Of course I took photos. I'll check back to tell you if it worked.