Android Pure 4.2 Radio Non-JBL USA install

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by chickenhawk, Jun 28, 2014.

  1. saminatlanta

    saminatlanta Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    7
    0
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    I
    Were you able to use the AUX plug in the center console after installing this unit? I can't figure out a way to use it after installing mine.
     
  2. neez

    neez Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    194
    37
    3
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    With pretty much every media device having bluetooth, and the android unit itself being capable of holding lots of memory, why would you need to use the Aux?

    If it's a concern i would use the audio line in's on the back of the unit, and route them with an RCA to 3.5mm adapter to the glove box. It's the quickest and easiest no cutting solution.



    But if you wanted to do a full install, you could splice into the wires leading to the aux in your console and solder them to rca plugs. These baluns will work, the wires probably go up to the head unit somewhere.




    WitWith
     
  3. saminatlanta

    saminatlanta Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    7
    0
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    I
    I mostly wanted to make sure that I wasn't missing anything, and that the aux cable was, in fact, no longer connected. When I tried the audio over bluetooth it was a little bit glitchy (skipped like a CD would a few times), and the audio quality didn't seem as good, though I could just be fooling myself on that one.

    Anyway, thanks for the tips! I may try the splicing method assuming I can figure out which wires go to the console aux port.
     
  4. GregP507

    GregP507 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    3,002
    478
    0
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I'll be watching this thread, because quite frankly, the built-in head unit I have, sucks. However, I'd need to hear a substantial amount of good things about a head unit imported through AliExpress. If it works out great for you, I may do the same.
     
  5. saminatlanta

    saminatlanta Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    7
    0
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    I
    I've only had mine for a week but so far I'd give it two thumbs up! It's a little difficult to figure out at first since there's no user's manual included with it, but after figuring it out it's awesome.

    As far as concerns regarding importing through AliExpress, I bought mine through Amazon:
     
  6. saminatlanta

    saminatlanta Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    7
    0
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    I
    It deleted my link x_x

    amazon.com/gp/product/B00OLFHJHC/
     
  7. GregP507

    GregP507 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    3,002
    478
    0
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Same source regardless, right?
     
  8. saminatlanta

    saminatlanta Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    7
    0
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    I
    I am not sure, but notably there are different units and sellers through Amazon alone:
    amazon.com/multi-Touch-Navigation-Bluetooth-Controls-Steering/dp/B00L53ZLV4

    Based off of that I would say that the sources are different, but they all definitely come from China.
     
  9. neez

    neez Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    194
    37
    3
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    They all come from china, but from multiple different factories with different hardware and software installed. I wanted the latest android version possible(4.4 now available) and a dual core processor. The version from pumpkin car stereo hit all the marks. My biggest gripe was the decrease in sound quality and lack of output from android to my headrests, but other than that it's been very good.
     
  10. GregP507

    GregP507 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    3,002
    478
    0
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    A number of manufacturers (practically all of them) have moved their production to China, and to ensure the quality they want, they have their own consultants on-site. However, once the product has been produced, there's nothing to stop them from selling a similar product out the back-door at a discount, using cheaper parts to achieve a lower price-point. I find it's very hit-and-miss what you receive.
     
  11. PaJa

    PaJa Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    678
    113
    92
    Location:
    Czech republic
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Guys, few questions for Android's installers
    - what is HU's boot time. Does it wakeup from screen off state or cold boot?
    - what about RDS FM tuner functionality? I know Chinese are not the best for the full functional RDS.
    - if Torque app installed and started, are other playback functions, e.g. FM tuner, MP3 DVD...., available?
     
  12. neez

    neez Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    194
    37
    3
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I have the dual core 1.6ghz model, bootup time is fairly long, but not too long. It's usually fully booted from the time i start my car, to the time i leave the parking lot. Hasn't been an issue for me.

    It does have RDS, but doesn't show too much information due to not using enough characters to display the full text. It scrolls the information, but it takes forever. See the attached picture, i think that's sam smith on the radio.

    Torque app works fine while using Nav and Spotify when i run it. However, i doubt you can stream bluetooth from your phone while you run the bluetooth OBD adapter at the same time.
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...