1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Another benefit of Synthetic Oil

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by morpheusx, May 5, 2008.

1. morpheusx

morpheusx Professor Chaos

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I finally got around to mowing the grass this weekend. The grass had gotten a tad on the thick side as I have been too busy (lazy) to cut it. As I do every year I changed the oil to start the season with fresh oil. My mower just calls for 20 ounces of SAE 30 oil, so I decided to just dump in some left over 5w30 Castrol Syntec from my last oil change,. I have never used synthetic oil in a mower before because it just seems unnecessary. Anyway my yard is approximately 1/2 acre lot and the mower typically runs out of fuel as I'm finishing the yard and I have to add just a bit of gas to finish up. Today I finished the entire yard with out having to fill up and out of my curiosity I opened up the gas cap and looked inside, amazingly to my surprise there appears to be at least a quarter to half tank of gas left in the tank. I wasn't expecting any benefit at all so I was surprised.

2. Sufferin' Prius Envy

Sufferin' Prius Envy Platinum Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    And just imagine how many extra feet a Hummer would drive if you add synthetic oil. :pound:

3. Prius 07

Prius 07 Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Small World - I did the same thing (even the same brand and type) with my lawnmower (first time) last weekend.

4. Prius 07

Prius 07 Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    duplicate -sorry

5. bbald123

bbald123 Thermodynamics Law Enforcement

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I've had mowers that specifically warned against multi-viscosity oils of any kind.

You might want to check your manual.

6. jayman

jayman Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius