1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Another Dumb Question

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by berryman, Aug 18, 2004.

1. berryman

berryman Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I'm new to the forum and you probably all know the answer to this - BUT - are there driving situations that cause the computer to engage both the gas and electric motors simultaneously, such that the Prius operates at its full, combined 130 + HP rating?

2. obiwan

obiwan New Member

Houston - West, near Westheimer and Beltway
    I'm not an expert in this area, but I believe that if you push the Prius to it's maximum theoretical speed, the hybrid system is fully engaged.

If I remember right, that happens at about 102 MPH or so.

3. efusco

efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    No, those horsepowers are not additive that way.

4. obiwan

obiwan New Member

Houston - West, near Westheimer and Beltway
    Right - I didn't mean to imply that the HP's sum totaly... but at 102 MPH you are geting as much from the system as it is able to give.. about 100 HP or so.

Someone on here reported getting the car up to 104 MPH, but that was going downhill in the Rockies (if I remember right)

5. HTMLSpinnr

HTMLSpinnr Super Moderator
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Tesla Model 3
    Model:
    N/A
    Couple of things:
    * Top Speed doesn't always equal horsepower. In the Prius case, it's limited by the maximum speed of MG2 (the traction motor).
    * The Prius doesn't have 130hp+ net as we can't add the electric and gas engines together. The gas engine produces 76hp by burning gasoline. The Electric motor can produce up to 67hp - however it's energy source is either the gas engine or the battery pack.