1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

another extended warranty question (should I and can I?)

Discussion in 'Prius c Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by cutter44, Apr 30, 2015.

1. cutter44

cutter44 Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Four
    I know, I know. I've read through most of the threads here about extended warranties, and I'm generally disinclined to get one. But this is my first time owning a hybrid, so I have to ask.

First of all this whole conversation may be moot, depending on the answer to the first question, which is "Can I get an Toyota extended warranty?". I bought this 2012 C used (from a Subaru dealer who took it in trade toward a new Subaru). It has a clean Carfax which I've seen. It's in great shape and it had 34,035 miles on it when I brought it home. It now has about 34,430 miles, so I guess I'm officially still under the original 3 yr/36k mile warranty. I haven't called a Toyota dealer yet to ask, but if I'm reading the info on the Toyota site correctly, I can't even get a Toyota extended warranty unless I bought the car from a Toyota dealer and bought the extended warranty when I bought the car. Could that be true? If that's the case, then that's that. I'm not spending any money for an aftermarket warranty.

I can call a dealer and ask, but I figured you all probably know as much as they do. Let's get this part figured out before I go into the whole "should I get one" part of the question. :)

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    don't forget your 5/60 and 10/150 warranties as well.

3. wjtracy

wjtracy Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    If it was new I'd say forget it, but used is less certain. As per bisco, check to see if the orig purchase and ownership was in MA or other CARB state, if so you have 10 yr 150k coverage on major hybrid stuff.

4. SageBrush