1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Any tips on 220k weak engine

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by SanGregprius, Jan 18, 2024.

1. SanGregprius

SanGregprius Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    I've recently replaced the HV battery. Recent water pump and belt. Cleaned intake manifold. Airfilter and plugs have been changed recently.

Getting a good amount of white smoke on cold mornings. Pretty rough idle and when the engine toggles off/on it is easy to feel it. I'm in a coastal area between 50-65 so not even that cold.
    Clears up after warm but Could barely get up a very steep hill even though car was warmed up.

I'm wondering if I should do an injector cleaning, or if anyone has any other maintenance recommendations. Am I expecting too much? MPG is still around 48, and I'm a sloooow driver.

Thanks for any tips.

#1 SanGregprius, Jan 18, 2024
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2024
  2. Tombukt2

Tombukt2 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Sounds like the cars at a very hard life and high mileage maybe a compression check is in order before going too much farther these cars generally don't take a lot of work with the way you were talking I thought you were talking about a generation 3 at first this is not normal for this model at all unless the above conditions are kind of met. I have four of these things in various mileages all of them extremely high and none of them produce white smoke in the morning but for a few seconds and it's got to be real cold like freezing

3. SanGregprius

SanGregprius Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Thanks for your input. Besides being outside, the car has had mostly freeway miles. The hill climb was not normal but was alarming.

4. TMR-JWAP

TMR-JWAP Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring