1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Any way to add SKS to the hatch on a II?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Accessories and Modifications' started by MikeDS, Aug 9, 2009.

1. MikeDS

MikeDS Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hey guys,

I've had my II for a few weeks now. I'm a musician and often have lots of gear to load in and out of the hatch. I didn't realize the II didn't have 3 door SKS when I bought it since the Gen IIs had it on all models. Being able to open the hatch without fishing for keys when my hands are full would be fantastic. Will Toyota add this to my car after market? If so, is it gonna cost me a huge sum of money?

Thanks!!

Mike

2. Paradox

Paradox Prius Enthusiast / Moderator
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Nope, no easy aftermarket way... It's been discussed that while probably possible, it will cost quite a bit to do...

3. reverai

reverai New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I wish one could but based on reading this web site, it's very unlikely that one can add smart keys functions to a non smart key Prius. Of course, if I'm wrong about this, I'm sure there will be many other posts correcting me. It's rather sad that Toyota doesn't have some kind hardware upgrade path for the Prius other than purchasing a new Prius as this has come up several times since I've started reading the web site.

Steve

4. MikeDS

MikeDS Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Well, that sucks...haha...its probably the only feature I wish I had of all the goodies available...that and lumbar support!! hah...

5. RobH

RobH Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    I'm guessing that it's a fairly simple modification. Mostly a research project.