1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Anybody Ever Start a Business?

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by boulder_bum, May 14, 2009.

1. boulder_bum

boulder_bum Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    So I'm considering buying a Mac and a bunch of productivity and development software to make iPhone apps.

I don't expect to make much money doing it (yet), but it might be nice to have the tax write-off on the potentially thousands of dollars I might spend on new gear.

Has anyone started their own side business and taken advantage of the tax write offs?

Does it complicate tax filing much (beyond having to buy a more expensive edition of Turbo Tax)?

Is it even a good idea?

2. Rae Vynn

Rae Vynn Artist In Residence

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I don't know everything about it, but here, for me, working as a computer consultant, I had to get a state business license, a city B&O license, and I have to file tax statements (and pay taxes) quarterly to the city. If I make enough, I have to pay Estimated Self Employment tax to the IRS.

YMMV

3. Matt Herring

Matt Herring New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    A friend of mine started his own business and makes IPhone apps whitehuskysoftware.com . He is the creator of the famous Candy Heart IPhone app...famous around Valentines Day anyway.

4. Bob_Stan

Bob_Stan New Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    My home business (in the software/support field) required a DBA from the state, and quarterly tax payments to the IRS. If I sold directly to end users (which I don't) I would also have to file sales tax reports. I let an accountant figure out the taxes.

It's worth it to me.

5. boulder_bum

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Thanks, all.

Follow-up: has anyone tried sorted through running a side business in addition to being a W2 employee for someone else?

6. MarinJohn