1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Anyone else notice any screen burn?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Technical Discussion' started by MrChristian, Jun 23, 2009.

1. MrChristian

MrChristian New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I was just curious if anyone else has noticed "burn-in" on the screens. Sorry, I'm a bit of a newb so flame away within reason, but I pretty leave my screen on (here's where the newb part comes in) the one that looks like it shows the acceleration. Every now again, I will assess other aspects of my driving habits and I notice that parts of that main screen, that I use, are burned into various parts of the other screens (varying brightness that is patterned suspiciously like the other screen). I've only had the car since 6/5. Has anyone else noticed this?

Thanks in advance!
    Christian

2. Rest

Rest Active Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Which screen are you talking about?

3. qbee42

qbee42 My other car is a boat

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    It's either the MFD or MID. Since this is a 2010, the type of information the OP describes is on the MID, or at least that sounds like what he means.

Neither screen is prone to burn-in. LCD screens, such as the MFD, are susceptible to "image persistence", which isn't a burn-in phenomenon but effectively amounts to the same thing. I haven't heard of any problems with this on the Gen II Prius, so I would be surprised if it happened with the Gen IIIs. Either way, the OP's car is far too young for any image persistence issues.

As for the MID, that uses a different display technology. The display items are actually formed into the display during manufacture, so you can see ghost images of the displays. I suspect this is what you are seeing.

Tom

4. krisirk

krisirk Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV