1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Anyone getting the posted 61 city here

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by CheapChic, Mar 21, 2007.

1. CheapChic

CheapChic New Member

I am just curious how to get this.

PS anyone know the optimal highway speed i can drive and get good mpg

2. TonyPSchaefer

TonyPSchaefer Your Friendly Moderator
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I exceed 60MPG in the summer months. Check the Mileage link in my signature.

3. efusco

efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(CheapChic @ Mar 21 2007, 05:42 PM) [snapback]409815[/snapback]</div>
    Sure, I can commonly get 65-70mpg under ideal city conditions. I use pulse and glide, anticipatory driving and any number of techniques. I have a lot of experience and practice. I use 42psi in front and 40psi in back.

There is no such thing as an "optimal highway speed". Go the speed limit, anticipate stops and slow-downs, don't tailgate and you'll do quite well.

4. CheapChic

CheapChic New Member

Are the tires hard at that psi..

i was going to go to 40/38 tomorrow

5. efusco

efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(CheapChic @ Mar 21 2007, 06:13 PM) [snapback]409835[/snapback]</div>
    I do not know, a little. I'm used to it and don't mind it.

6. brick

brick Active Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I've started to break 60mpg under city/rural conditions now that morning temps have started to rise above freezing. All it really takes is moderate temps and a moderate driving style, which means smooth accelerations and doing your best to look ahead so that you don't throw energy away through braking. Just focus on driving smooooothly.