1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Anyone have a functional Shark Fin Antenna?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Accessories & Modifications' started by PriusGTRSpecVTypeR, Feb 9, 2006.

1. PriusGTRSpecVTypeR

PriusGTRSpecVTypeR New Member

Hi! I'm still new to the Prius scene, having switched over from a Civic recently :blink: ... :D

I've been hit by the mod bug recently (probably leftover from my Civic days) and started looking around, especially at the stuff from Sigma since they seem to be the largest parts place for us.

At Sigma I found their shark fins for $69 & $79: http://www.sigmaautomotive.com/FoliaTec/antenna.php

[Broken External Image]:http://img331.imageshack.us/img331/5567/jtlg3007vd.jpg

Has anyone tried one?

Alternately, I have recently come across this website from a friend who purchased one for his car for $59: http://www.sharkfinantenna.com

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

They don't have any pictures of the Prius, but I've emailed them a few days ago and they replied saying they have sold some for Prius' but don't have pictures. So I'm guessing it fits without a problem.

It looks like the sharkfinantenna.com one is better deal; since it seems to be well tested and it's cheaper, plus it is painted to match your car as well (whereas the Sigma ones are plain black i think). In either case, does anyone have one? I'd like to see pictures of it on our cars before dipping into my pockets :wacko:

2. efusco

efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    The other advantage of the ones from Sharkfin directly is that they screw on over your existing antenna base. From the photo of the Sigma one it looks like you have to get under the headliner and completely remove the old base and mount the new one.

That method is probably more secure and prevents theft, but it's also a LOT more involved.