Anyone know how to disable TPMS ?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Accessories and Modifications' started by georgekessel, Mar 6, 2010.

  1. georgekessel

    georgekessel Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    182
    8
    1
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Has anyone found a way to disable the TPMS yet?

    My winter tires/rims from a previous Prius don't have the TPMS and I'm sick of looking at the light.
     
  2. dr_d12

    dr_d12 Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    154
    13
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
  3. Judgeless

    Judgeless Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    1,824
    250
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    The link dr_d12 posted was two threads below the new thread you started. A least read the current threads before you start a new one.
     
  4. mad-dog-one

    mad-dog-one Prius Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    1,181
    415
    0
    Location:
    Whereabouts Unknown
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Have you considered using a strategically placed piece of black tape?
     
  5. georgekessel

    georgekessel Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    182
    8
    1
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I'm using the black tape now, wanted to do something better...
     
    Mean Kitty likes this.
  6. CaiYanzhang

    CaiYanzhang Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2014
    11
    1
    0
    Location:
    Carlifornia
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius Alpha
    Model:
    Three
    It is possible to get it done with Techstream cable, 2 minutes' work
     
  7. StarCaller

    StarCaller Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    1,039
    550
    0
    Location:
    Cedar Crest, NM, USA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    you got instructions for that? I have the techstream, but where would I find the procedure?
     
  8. CaiYanzhang

    CaiYanzhang Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2014
    11
    1
    0
    Location:
    Carlifornia
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius Alpha
    Model:
    Three
    --Install software
    --Locate "Customize setting" menu
    --Utility
    View some TPMS and ABS values
    [​IMG]
    --select TMPS on the function menu and click “Data List”. Then you will see all real time data like vehicle speed, sensors ID, intake air temperature as well as each tire pressure and tire temperature etc.
     
  9. StarCaller

    StarCaller Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    1,039
    550
    0
    Location:
    Cedar Crest, NM, USA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    so far so good, but there's no way to disable the tpms/
     
  10. Den49

    Den49 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    498
    262
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
  11. StarCaller

    StarCaller Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    1,039
    550
    0
    Location:
    Cedar Crest, NM, USA
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    yep, that's what I did. but with the techstream it would've been a more elegant solution/
     
Loading...