1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Approaching 100K Miles: Services Suggested by Dealership

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by monicca03, Dec 17, 2007.

1. monicca03

monicca03 New Member

Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    I have a 2002 Prius that I bought in August. I drive quite a lot for my job and am requiring monthly oil changes.

When I took it in this morning, I was given a list of services needed in the near future. I am new at this game and I'm just wanting some opinions on what was suggested to me:

1. Tune Up (Planned on this because of my mileage)
    2. Emission Service (I would like to know what exactly this is and what it will do for my car)
    3. Engine Decarb (Again, would like to know exactly what this is and also what it will so for my car)

Also, will these three services increase my gas mileage? I'm getting high 30's, lower 40's, but I have been assuming this is a result of my constant highway driving and the bitter weather we're having.

Again...I'm definitely new in this game and I've never owned a newer car. I'm pretty fresh out of college and this is the first time I haven't had my dad take care of my car. :)

Any help would be appreciated!

2. bwilson4web

bwilson4web BMW i3 and Model 3

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Miles per month?

I would look for:
    1. engine air filter, spark plugs, possibly PVC valve
    2. transaxle oil change including a gasket (make sure they drop the pan)
    3. using throttle plate cleaner and injector cleaner (kit includes vacuum pipe cleaner)
    4. inverter coolant change (** special caution)
    5. oil change but NO OVERFILL (must be at or below "F")
    6. tire rotation and alignment check (get the report and post the numbers here)