1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Auto forums in general...

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by mootsman, Apr 7, 2007.

1. mootsman

mootsman New Member

I've hung out at a lot of forums over the years but they've mostly related to my interests in music, history and cycling. This is the first auto specfic forum that I've lurked and posted at. It's always appeared to me that forums inherently tend to ignore the middle ground, i.e., many folks posting are either "blinded by the light" or have a beef....and this forum has it in spades. A newbie here might quickly get two interesting impressions.

1. The Prius will save the planet, last til the next millenium and readily get 60 miles to the gallon in the process.
    OR
    2. The Prius has more systemic problems than any new vehicle on the road, e.g., handling in gravel, handling in snow, handling in rain, handling in wind, rear window visibility, lousy OEM tires, "incorrect" manufacturer information on tire pressures, gas fill-up issues ad nauseum, steering feel, VSC issues, the steering wheel itself, seat comfort or lack thereof, paint chip issues, less mpg than expected, and on and on.

So I went and lurked around a Honda Element forum (our other vehicle) and lo and behold -- the same thing. It's either the best thing since sliced bread or a POS. It appears that my initial assumption is correct that forum topics will tend toward polar opposites -- and that's OK now that I more understand the nature of it all. And, maybe I'm lucky, 'cause other than the very low ground clearance (read curb clearance) I'm completely happy with "Greenie" (as we call it).

2. Ichabod

Ichabod Artist In Residence

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    You've hit the nail on the head, as it were. I'd extend your observation to the entire internet though.