1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Autocross (Auto-X, solo, whatever you want to call it)

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by froboy, Feb 28, 2005.

1. froboy

froboy Junior Member

I'm a fairly new Prius driver, got a new 05 just about to hit the 2k miles mark, and I'm trying to gauge the feasability of autocrossing this car. I realize the Prius is not the fastest, most responsive, most race-worthy car in the world, and I wouldn't really be doing it for competition as much as to enjoy and to learn more about driving in an alternative environment. I have read a number of the topics relating to handling, ABS, VSC, etc and basically am already resigned to the fact that I'm not going to be able to change/disable the computer control in the car. Knowing this, I would like to get feedback from people on how autocrossing this car would be or if it would even be worth it. Thanks.

2. rick57

rick57 Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I don't know anybody that has done that with a Prius,but I don't think it would hurt anything. In Autocross you run against the clock on a short course. I did it once in my MR2 and it is fun. Since you would only be driving the car hard for about a minute, it is not like you are doing round track for 50 laps :lol:
    so it shouldn't hurt anything. Possibly shorten tire life,but that should be it. Maybe someone else has more input.

3. finman

finman Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Nissan LEAF
    IMHO, cars are made to be driven, period. That's why they all have 4 wheels and a steering wheel...so far. I did auto-crossing in my '77 VW Rabbit back in college and it was a blast. I would definitely do it in my Prius...now I'm gonna go find an event! The only way to find out is to do it.

4. hdrygas

hdrygas New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius