1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Average lifetime of Prii?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by bgoodr, Aug 12, 2007.

1. bgoodr

bgoodr Junior Member

Hi folks,

I'm a proud owner of a 2005 Prius, and a noob here at PriusChat (please be gentle :) ). The wife is down to visit the outlaws and the father outlaw claims that the Prii start petering out at 90kmiles on average. Yes, by golly, this same father outlaw owns a Hummer and also claims that his monstrosity would outlive a Prius. Of course, I don't believe that claim at all, but it has got my curiosity up. Do note that I'm happy with my unmodified Prius and the mileage it gets, but it would be nice to be prepared with some evidence to the contrary for my next conversation with the Hummer-ite. Has anyone seen any major problems at or after the "magical" 90,000 miles mark with the Prius?

Thanks in advance!
    Brent

2. cwerdna

cwerdna Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(bgoodr @ Aug 11 2007, 11:57 PM) [snapback]494230[/snapback]</div>
    Sounds like they got their info from the CNW BS/crap that claims Priuses last 109K miles and that Hummer H2 last 197K miles. You can find some of my debunking at http://priuschat.com/index.php?s=&show...st&p=487126.

Based on the reliability ratings I attached, http://autos.msn.com/advice/CRArt.aspx?contentid=4023544 and http://www.jdpower.com/corporate/news/rele...pdf/2007130.pdf (or http://www.jdpower.com/corporate/news/rele...spx?ID=2007130), those outlaws have little credibility in my book.

edit:fixed last URL

Attached Files:

3. catgic

catgic Mastr & Commandr Hybrid Guru

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    HTTP 404 Not Found

4. TonyPSchaefer

TonyPSchaefer Your Friendly Moderator
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Bgoodr, welcome to PriusChat!