1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Baby Boomers and retirement savings

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by huskers, Jan 9, 2007.

1. huskers

huskers Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    There was a segment on the news tonight about how baby boomers have not put away for retirement. Since most of the people on this site seem intelligent, I would suppose that most of you have planned for the big "R" moment. (?)

2. Godiva

Godiva AmeriKan Citizen

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    I've been planning since I was 30. Or I should say acting.

I'm a teacher and have a pension through the State Teacher Retirement System. STRS is quite solvent and doing better than the market. I met with a financial planner through my educator's association and set up a Tax Sheltered Annuity when I was around 30. I started by putting in only $200 a month. Over the years, as my pay has increased I've increased my monthly deposits. I think I'm somewhere between $700 and $800 a month now. Doesn't seem like much. Maybe I'll be able to increase it to $1000 a month in a year or two. But I've been doing it for 22 years now so it has accumulated. I *could* retire when I'm 58 if I wanted. That was the original plan. My TSA will supplement my pension allowing me the same income I have now. I'll be able to pay my mortgage, eat, keep warm. But not much in the way of travel or entertainment. Maybe I'll be able to go to an occasional movie. I haven't been to one in a real movie theater in a few years. (Except for Who Killed the Electric Car with the PriusClubSD.) Of course, with gasoline approaching $5 (and then $10) a gallon, the price of everything else going up because of it, I don't know if I'll be able to afford to retire. Then there's the cost of healthcare. Healthcare hits nearly $2 Trillion. Who can plan for that kind of inflation? Give it up? Rely on Medicare? Um, I don't th