1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Backup camera Gen 2

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by V Paki, Jun 18, 2018.

  1. OBJUAN

    OBJUAN Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    164
    74
    0
    Location:
    canada
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    I refused to fight with the car harness for the camera, just point to point wiring.
    Spent hours looking for the REV + wire for M13 pin 21. It stops at IJ3 pin 22 so I used that.
    I expect the rest of the harness is going to be as bad or worse for missing points in the base model.

    ITBlands info saved many more hours sorting out the M13 changes, so cudos fro that.......
     
  2. OBJUAN

    OBJUAN Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    164
    74
    0
    Location:
    canada
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Oh, you had some pic of the hatch harness, that would have saved me some time, oh well.
    Made me manually test the camera to sort the pin out. Nearly 30 years since I looked at an NTSC signal....

    You should be able to sort out everything you need from ITBlands posts, mine and what you've gleaned to finish up.:eek:)
     
  3. steve0826

    steve0826 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    19
    4
    0
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    I think I am doing the same project. Would you look at my pictures below?
    Prius camera (2).jpg Prius camera.jpg
     
  4. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    11,491
    14,104
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I've installed several camera kits on Gen 2. I had to run the cable all the way from the MFD to the new camera every time, so I don't think Toyota installed unused camera wires. Once you pull out the MFD, you'll see that there is no camera wiring connected to it.

    It's kind of labor intensive. The hardest part is usually getting the connector and wire through the rubber protective boot that connects the hatch to the car. It's a tight fit and requires a pull wire and some soap or other lube.
     
  5. steve0826

    steve0826 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    19
    4
    0
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    I will give up on this project. Unless other tips surface.
     
  6. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    11,491
    14,104
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    It's not all that bad. Took me a couple hours the first time. Maybe less. Check out one or more of the Youtube videos to remove the MFD. I snake the cable behind the front of the drivers side carpet. Remove the plastic kick plate in front of the door along with the plastic trim at the door sills and the vertical ones on the B & C pillars. Route the cable along that path and up to the head liner in back. Pop off the plastic trim panels on the hatch. Take one end off the rubber boot so you can get the cable through it.
     
  7. steve0826

    steve0826 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    19
    4
    0
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Good motivation. I think I can do it.

    Two question,

    (1) is the picture below correct?
    (2) do I simply connect #27, 28, 29 and 30 to the backup camera?

    Thanks a lot!
    PriusMFD.jpeg
     
    #27 steve0826, Jan 1, 2023
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2023
  8. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    11,491
    14,104
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Sorry, can't help there. The ones we install are made for the Prius and come with a plug. I'm not sure where we get them or if they fit pre-2006 Prius. I'll try to remember to check tomorrow.
     
  9. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    11,491
    14,104
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I'm back. I checked to see what we install. It turns out that I was thinking of the Gen 3 Prius; there is an aftermarket camera kit for that that includes the whole harness.

    For Gen two, apparently only an OEM camera kit will have the harness, so that's what we do with the occasional Gen 2 that gets a camera.
     
    ColoradoCrow likes this.
  10. ColoradoCrow

    ColoradoCrow Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    942
    384
    1
    Location:
    Leawood, KS
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    I
    I had to use KY. As other projects when I used Dawn soap it actually ate through the electrical tape after about a year. It made a horrible sticky mess of black goo which was awful to clean up. So use KY or Pink Water. i also ram an entire harness from the camera to the new radio HU in my wife’s car. Lots of work but the camera resolution is 1080 and looks great.
     
    jerrymildred likes this.
  11. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    11,491
    14,104
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    The only spot that needs any lube is that boot between the hatch and the roof. No tape there except what you use to fasten the new connector to whatever you're using to pull it through there. I mentioned soap because most everyone has it. Wire pulling lube would be best. Or some silicon lube will also work.
     
  12. steve0826

    steve0826 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    19
    4
    0
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    OK then. But do you know if below statement is true?

    "Any Gen2 MFD, with build-in GPS, will accept OEM camera."
     
  13. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    11,491
    14,104
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Not sure about a 2004. There were big changes in 2006 including a higher resolution screen. I'm only guessing, but I'd think any MFD newer than a 2005 that has NAV would work, but I'm kind of doubtful about 2005 and older. Others here can probably speak with more knowledge than I have. Googling hasn't helped a bit.
     
  14. steve0826

    steve0826 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    19
    4
    0
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    OK, I will test it on my 2004. Hope for positive result.

    I used to have both 2004 and 2006; honestly I did not see much difference in resolution.
     
    jerrymildred likes this.
  15. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    11,491
    14,104
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I hope it works. And yes, the newer MFD still isn't all that good of a display especially compared to some modern cars..
     
  16. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    7,549
    3,793
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Some of the 2006+ trim levels probably use the low-res screen. I know for sure my 2006 has a low-res screen.
     
  17. steve0826

    steve0826 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    19
    4
    0
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    I heard this:
    "Many EV's use software to limit available battery capacity, since it's cheaper to produce one type of car and use software to carve out what buyer did not pay."
    Thus I assume:
    "Toyota might also have produced just one type of Prius (one type of harness) and carve out what buyer did not pay."
     
  18. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    7,549
    3,793
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Assumptions are not fact, and neither is what they or them say.

    Running unnecessary lengths of copper wire adds up, so I might just as easily assume that in order to save cost, Toyota only ran the wiring necessary for the accessories it was asked to fit.

    My assumption seems to be born out in observations reported by some looking for the camera wiring and not finding it.
     
    jerrymildred likes this.
  19. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    11,491
    14,104
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I've pulled out dozens, if not scores, of MFDs. None of them had any unused cables although many had unused ports on the MFD.
     
  20. OBJUAN

    OBJUAN Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    164
    74
    0
    Location:
    canada
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    In my 05 base model the harness from the MDF an camera was not there so I ran a shielded cable. Also I had to upgrade the MDF with the higher resolution version (from an 09) with rounded graphic buttons.
     
    jerrymildred likes this.