1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Basic Wiring question for HU upgrade....

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by priusgirl33, Jun 24, 2011.

1. priusgirl33

priusgirl33 New Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I am replacing my head unit on my 2011 II Prius. I am new to this, but am trying to be adventureous.

I have the following components going in:

All of these require power (red wire).
    1. New HU (Sony XAV-62BT)
    2. PAC SWI-PS (steering wheel controls)
    3. Sirius SCCI and Sony adapter for Sirius
    4. Backup camera

All of these require ground (black wire):
    1. Head Unit
    2. Head unit parking brake wire
    3. PAC SWI-PS
    4. Sirius
    5. Backup camera

My question is: Is it OK to just tie all of the red wires together between the new wire harness and the factory harness in the car? Is it OK to just tie all of the black wires together as well?

What I mean is can I just connect all red wires together so that all power for the new components comes from the single red wire in the existing wire harness in the car, and is it OK to connect all new ground wires for the new components to the single black wire in the existing wire harness in the car?

Any help would be appreciated.

:)

2. LulzChicken

LulzChicken Prius Enthusiast

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I know this is a short reply, but yes - you can do that. It'll be fine. No worries. It saves a lot of time that way. Good luck!:rockon:

1 person likes this.
  3. priusgirl33

priusgirl33 New Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    II
    A short answer is the best answer!!!!

:rockon:

I have a sinking feeling I am in way over my head. Kind of like I am throwing puzzle pieces up in the air and hoping they land all put together - but here goes!

4. spiderman

spiderman wretched

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II