1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Batteries, Jump Starting, Ready Light?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by drum365, Aug 19, 2022.

1. drum365

drum365 New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring
    I hope you all will forgive me for a one-and-done post. My brother has been in a long-term care facility, and I thought it would be a good idea to start his 2008 Prius since it has been sitting for a long time. It was stone-cold dead. No door locks, no dash lights, nothing.

I was able to jumpstart the battery and drive it, but I'm very confused and hope you all can help. Please excuse me if some of these are "dumb" questions. I have zero experience with hybrids.

First dumb question: does the car have two batteries, one for driving the wheels and a 12V battery for starting, etc.? The 12V can discharge without draining the "main" battery?

I'd drive a regular internal combustion car for 20 minutes or so to recharge the battery. Will that recharge the 12V in the Prius, too?

When I started the Prius, the info window showed four blue bars on the info screen. Coasting down my brother's hill got it up to one green bar, but then driving in stop-and-go traffic with the AC on, I got all the way down to 2 or 3 blue bars. I got scared and turned off the AC. (Is it correct to assume the internal combustion motor would keep me going even if the main battery showed zero bars?)

I read something that gave me the impression that pushing the Power button - so "Ready" lights up on the dashboard - causes the main battery to start the 12V battery. Is this right? If I just left the car sitting in Ready mode, would the 12V battery eventually be charged?

Again - sorry for all the dumb questions. Thanks in advance for any help!

bisco likes this.
  2. JC91006

JC91006 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II