1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Battery advice

Discussion in 'Generation 1 Prius Discussion' started by luvmy2001, Dec 20, 2010.

1. luvmy2001

luvmy2001 New Member

Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi fellow Prius Lovers!
    I have a 2001 Prius with 141000 miles on it. I have had it 4 years. (other than the catalytic converter needing to be replaced it has been working great)

I had the evil orange warning light (Hybrid system) come on Saturday night, drove it home (10 miles) then this morning took it to the dealer. (another 4 miles) It seems to be driving pretty normal.

As I suspected they say it needs a new battery. Code p3006. Are there other options? rebuilt batteries? If I get it replaced can I get another 9 years out of this car?

I am a student, the car is not paid off and I have to be fiscally responsible. Is it worth the investment or do I write it off and move on?

Thanks in advance for your help!
    Rachel

2. Patrick Wong

Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    1. Yes, there is the option of installing a "remanufactured" traction battery, but you will need to find an independent shop willing to install it. You might save $1K with that alternative.

2. If you replace the traction battery, you may still experience other failures over the next nine years, such as the transaxle, inverter, power steering gear, another battery failure, who knows.

3. I suggest you determine the market value of the car (probably $5K at best) and compare that to the likely repair cost. It's unclear whether it makes sense to spend $2-3K in repair for a car with such a low market value. However, you'll then be faced with the decision of what other used car to purchase. Good luck.

3. TexomaEV

TexomaEV Member

Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    N/A