1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

best acceleration technique

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by kdk84, Apr 30, 2007.

1. kdk84

kdk84 New Member

I was wondering, since either way it seems like MPG is compromised during acceleration, is it best to accelerate at a moderate speed with slightly higher mpg, or is it better to accelerate harder and to reduce your "getting up to speed" time.

Perhaps different scenarios (i.e. uphill vs. downhill starts) promote different acceleration techniques for optimal mpg. I was just wonder what your guys' experience has been. I just got my prius last weekend so I'm still new to all of this.

2. JimboK

JimboK One owner, low mileage

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(kdk84 @ Apr 30 2007, 02:45 AM) [snapback]432422[/snapback]</div>
    Moderate acceleration is probably better, though it depends on how "moderate" is defined. Some have described a dropoff in ICE efficiency at around 2300-2400 RPM, and then another at around 3000. Of course not having a tachometer, you won't know when you've reached those numbers. (Many of us have aftermarket instrumentation like a ScanGauge.)

To help guide folks without a tach, lately I've been watching the correlation between RPM, speed, and instantaneous fuel consumption. It appears that if you keep MPG at half the vehicle speed or better, you're probably below 2400 at most speeds. (On this observation, I'm interested in the feedback of others with RPM-monitoring capability, but I am going to start a new thread.)

3. Rangerdavid

Rangerdavid Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring