1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Best "arrows" on Energy monitor screen?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by harper42, Jul 26, 2006.

1. harper42

harper42 Member

I'm new to the Prius and I'm really not certain about the Energy monitor screen. I basically understand what they are telling me. I know that the ideal screen in the "no arrows" screen, which I am learning how to do. I still have to get the feel of how much pressure to apply for the "pulse" but I have managed to do it many times. But the rest of the arrows: At first, I thought the idea was to use the battery, to not consume gas; however, I have read more of your postings and realize that it is not a good thing, as it requires too much energy to regenerate. Beyond that, I'm confused. There are pinkish arrows and orange arrows and green arrows (which seem to be good, as my mileage goes up when I see them), and they appear to be when I coast, and am regenerating battery. Could you please help me understand this screen. Thanks so much for your help.

2. sl7vk

sl7vk Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(dulcimer @ Jul 26 2006, 10:13 AM) [snapback]292534[/snapback]</div>
    Yeah... Blue is coasting and regenerating your battery.... As well as braking or decelerating. If you are getting blue and you are going your desired speed this is ideal

Orange is the ICE working. I've found that the best Orange to have is when It's running your powertrain and recharging your batter at the same time. At speeds around 40mph you can get the ICE to run your powertrain, and recharge your battery and get 50-70 mpg... Not bad. The yellow of course is the electric. This is really best at low speeds. If you are cruising down a street with no stop signs and doing 25-30 mph this works great. Running on electric only at 35-40 mph tends to use a bit too much battery for my liking.

3. TonyPSchaefer