1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

"Best cars with great gas mileage" : CNN.com

Discussion in 'Prius, Hybrid, EV and Alt-Fuel News' started by GreenGene, Apr 21, 2006.

1. GreenGene

GreenGene New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    OK. I'm a newbie - we've had our Prius for .... 9 days now. And still, I'm really irritated with an article I just spotted on CNN.com. They say

So okay - they're a little hung up on the added cost of hybrids. Never mind that I paid just about the same for the '04 Honda CR-V I just traded in as I did for the '06 Prius that replaced the CR-V ... and I'm already getting more than twice the gas mileage!

But then I go to the first of the "Best high mileage cars" - a decent 27 city/37 highway Mercedes-Benz E320 CDI ... costing about $50,000!!! AND, "Unfortunately, due to environmental regulations, the diesel E320 is not available in all 50 states." Say what??? I can spend twice as much to get half the gas mileage, and the car might not even be available in my state? Granted, the Benz is a very nice luxury car, but this is supposed to be a list of best gas mileage cars.

The Camry is the second car - okay.

The third - are you sitting down - is the Chevrolet Corvette! At $45,000 and 18 city/28 highway. Were the people who put this list together on drugs??

Fourth - RAV4. Fifth - Corolla. Toyota is well-represented, eh? But there just seems to be a fundamental lack of understanding about hybrids. I don't know if it's true of not, but I recall hearing that the average price of a new car today is approaching $30K. If you can spend less than that and get a great car with great gas mileage (and lots of really cool gadgets), is that a good deal from a purely economic standpoint AND doesn't that car pay off in other ways??

Sigh.

OK - rant over.

2. Sarge

Sarge Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2023 Prius Prime
    Model:
    XSE Premium