1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Best integrated satellite radio option

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by pr4424, Dec 28, 2010.

1. pr4424

pr4424 New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello all,

I have an 08 Package 5 Prius. I am new to satellite radio but I am considering getting now. I don't know if I want Sirius or XM or if there is even a difference any more. I do know that I want it to be fully integrated (meaning it shows up on the MFD and hopefully I can use the steering wheel controls). What is the best option?

Thanks for your help in advance!

2. pr4424

pr4424 New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Just a quick update, I've done some research and it looks like if I go with Sirius I will be able to get a discount because my wife has it too...so I narrowed it down to Sirius...now what is the best hardware to make it happen?

3. tf4624

tf4624 Active Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hmm do a dash mount custom install witha dremal tool and make it look cool. Get a unit that is colored of course to make it look snazy.. Look at the pioneer version.. full color head unit and you will have to pull dash apart to do the install and you might be able to fit in the cubby hole below the OEM radio and do a custom there where it will be hidden once you close the lid.

4. kiettyyyy

kiettyyyy Plug-In Supply Engineer

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Seriously? If anything, pr4424 wants an INTEGRATED solution that's controllable via steering wheel & MFD controls.

There are PLENTY of kits available on the market, pr4424. XM and Sirius have merged about a year or two ago.. All of their content(combined) are available on both XM and Sirius.

The parts you'll need to make all of this happen are the following: