1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

best tire width for wet roads

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Grdn2, Oct 25, 2007.

1. Grdn2

Grdn2 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello, y'all. This is my first time posting and I hope I'm in the right place. I live in Florida and need to replace my OEM tires. I was looking at the Michelin Hydroedge due to the daily rains here during our rainy season. My confusion is that I was going to upgrade to a little wider tire (195/60R15) thinking it would give me better traction on wet roads. I was told that a narrower tire would actually give me better traction under wet conditions. I have done many searchs and have not found where this has been addressed. I understand that a wider tire would give better traction on dry roads, but does it have the opposite effect on wet roads?

Thanks for your guidance. :)

2. qbee42

qbee42 My other car is a boat

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    All other factors being equal, a narrow tire will have less tendency to hydroplane on wet roads. There differences between static friction, dynamic friction, and the tendency to hydroplane. When most people talk about wet performance of a tire, they are thinking about hydroplaning. To avoid hydroplaning, a tire has to push water out of the way without lifting off of the road surface. A narrow tire has less planing surface and a higher loading, so it is less likely to lift.

Tom

3. Boo

Boo Boola Boola Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(qbee42 @ Oct 25 2007, 03:01 PM) [snapback]530382[/snapback]</div>
    Hi Tom,

I agree with you re greater likelihood of hydroplaning on wider tires (I think back to the only times I've ever seriously hydroplaned in my life, they were when driving sports cars with very wide tires).