1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

better your own environment

Discussion in 'Environmental Discussion' started by SSimon, Jun 27, 2006.

1. SSimon

SSimon Active Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
  2. wstander

wstander New Member

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(SSimon @ Jun 27 2006, 10:33 AM) [snapback]277448[/snapback]</div>

Thanks for posting these links.

I have been xeriscaping for over 18 years and find the attraction to native wildlife is pleasurable. In my case, that includes birds of prey and wild cats like cougars, so I still have some fencing B)

3. SSimon

SSimon Active Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    I saw your name and I thought you were going to pick on me again, sniffle.

I know what you mean. I started planting native forbs, grasses, trees, shrubs and vines (killed about half of my lawn to do so) and the transition is remarkable. Plus, it's pretty. Among all the neat birds and butterflies I've attracted, I now have lightning bugs (which I think are going extinct!?!?!). My next plan is to install a dragonfly breeding pond and a rain water garden. Do you know about the latter???? It's a new concept where you make a depression in your yard in a place where the roof run off is most pronounced and the land is naturally sloped and plant it with native plants and grasses. The roots of native species go down anywhere from 5 to about 20 feet (compared to lawn turf which is a couple inches). The plants then filter most of the pollutants out of the water before the water returns to streams, ponds, lakes, sewers, etc.

I have also installed specific native flora for all butterflies that reside in my area to facilitate the larval stages.

in reading your post, however, my area seems anti-climatic compared to your! How amazing must it be to look out your window and see a Cougar!

4. wstander

wstander New Member