1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

BEWARE! Warranty Voided due to electronics Install

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by eldiablo, Jul 23, 2005.

1. eldiablo

eldiablo New Member

I'm new to the Prius world so forgive me if this info has been already known.

I just picked up my prius 2 weeks ago during that time I have installed a aftermarket portable NAV system and a portable sirius radio. When I hooked up the items I tied into the green 12v wire that is talked about on this site.

Yesterday I was backing my car out of a stall. while I was backing the car acted as if I hit object and started jerking back & forth. At that time the trouble light came on and stayed on. I took the car to the toyota dealer to have it checked out. Later that day the dealer called and stated that they have never had that code come up on a car so they had to contact the engineers at the factory. The code had some relation to the inverter. At this time is when the toyota factory contacted me and told me that I was responsible for ALL REPAIR COSTS, because I voided the warranty by installing aftermarket electronic items that are not factory installed. At this time I do not know what the costs that I will incur at this point, so I will try to keep everyone informed. I tried fighting with toyota, but it was falling on deaf ears. bottom line is beware when installing aftermarket electronic items. they stated that the only method of installing aftermarket electronics is using the 12v outlets in the dash and center console properly.

I just do not understand how a electronics object that draws maybe 1.5 amps could cause a inverter to fault.

2. efusco

efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Sure sorry to hear of your troubles. Certainly if you did cause the problem with your after market install it should be your responsibility to pay.