1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Bird Box Project Update

Discussion in 'Environmental Discussion' started by F8L, Nov 7, 2009.

1. F8L

F8L Protecting Habitat & AG Lands

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I just thought I'd give everyone an update on the Nesting Box Program I started on one of our nature preserves.

As some of you know, I am a land manager and one aspect of my work entails doing restoration work. I was charged with installing a few nesting boxes on our grassland/vernal pool preserve (427 acres) but I decided to turn it into a project that would end up installing 50+ boxes in the next 2yrs and using school childen for the building, installation and monitoring of the boxes.

Last nesting season we had 28 bluebird/tree swallow boxes installed by 5th grade girls from a local elementary school, a handful of volunteers from the community college and a few general volunteers. Since we did not get the monitoring project up and going in time I had to go by my estimates obtained by regularly checking boxes hwile out on the preserve and I came up with:

60-70 Tree Swallow fledglings
    5 Bluebird fledglings

This season I have a 14yr old girl scout heading up the project as part of her Silver Project and she will be building and installing an additional 15-30 boxes on another preserve (329acres of oak woodland habitat) as well as cleaning and monitoring existing boxes. She will also lead a short tour to her nesting boxes as part of our Treasured Landscape Tour we give each spring. We generally have about 40-50 community members on each tour.

Here are some recent photos her little sister took while we toured one preserve and got her oriented with the property and the work being done there.