1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Block Heater or Grill Block?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Accessories & Modifications' started by Dolce_Vita, Jun 3, 2011.

1. Dolce_Vita

Dolce_Vita Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A

The (mild) Australian winter is setting in, and my mileage has taken a hit :(

My mileage has risen from 3.9/100km/ 60.1mpg to 4.5l100km or 52.2mpg :(

My daily commute is very short, a round trip of roughly 8km (4.9miles), at 8am (around 5degrees Celsius/ 41F) and again at 3:00pm (cold start, but at 15 degrees Celsius/ 59F). Inevitably this isn't very good for economy, i'm thinking of adding either a grille block or a engine block heater.

I have NO mechanical knowledge, which is easier to install? Is an engine block heater safe? does it void the cars warranty? or does Toyota install them (in aus)?

2. ursle

ursle Gas miser

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    The block heater is a small cylindrical metallic item that just slips into a recess in the block, it requires no attachment mechanism, and requires routing it's wires to a spot easily reached with an electric plug.
    It's safe and won't void your warranty.
    The grill block is up to your own creativity.
    A quick search should show various versions.
    If your mileage is in a downward spiral everyone else's is in a death dive;)

1 person likes this.
  3. Mendel Leisk

Mendel Leisk Senior Member

Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    The block heater is a Toyota product; it is a specific design for the Prius. The part is relatively cheap, but the install is a bit of a bear. In your shoes I'd just get them to install it. That's the route I went. I believe the warranty would be more sound if there was a problem, after going that route. That said, a number of DIY'rs have put them in, but it is a bit tricky.